Cheese and gratitude

3 May

When I’m supposed to write, I usually avoid the process for as long as possible. I think the “What if?” process is the most crazy-liberating, and I’m frightened by the fact that what I want to say never comes out as well as I want it to. 

Even when it comes to writing in my journal, I spend more time toying with ideas rather than putting them down on paper. In letters, it’s almost as if I value my opinion of my writing more than what the receiver of the letter will feel. This might be why I am so rarely spontaneously expressive in praise and gratitude. I am always (too) measured; cheesiness is not an option.

A significant level of cheese has crept into the letters below (thank you notes for my mentors during teaching practice). Cheese happens when you are overwhelmed. I want to be more like this and think less of how I will sound, even and especially when it comes to writing.

(Stationery: Woodwould
Cardholders: Typo)

Leave a comment