Overarching theme

13 Jul

Some things are safe because we never exchange words.
It’s safe because it’s a drama that unfolds
where I already know the ending.

As we get older, you can’t jump in without a safety net.
Therefore I take feelings much too seriously.
I link feelings to commitment.
I’m sad when I know commitment is out of the question.
I don’t even want commitment yet –
just the semblance.

I rest too much on how I am seen.

What’s scary now is the loss of remoteness.
We’re close enough to touch and therefore miss.
Worlds are close by. I can know this much about you
with the click of a button.
I know what we’re going through, we could talk about it.
Even laugh about it.

One thing remains; the distance.

Leave a Reply

