He leadeth me

2 Jun

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “I tell you the truth, it is hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven. Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.”
When the disciples heard this, they were greatly astonished and asked, “Who then can be saved?”
Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

– Matthew 19:23-30

“I too once passed the Dimrill Gate,” said Aragorn quietly; “but though I also came out again, the memory is very evil. I do not wish to enter Moria a second time.”
“And I don’t wish to enter it even once,” said Pippin.
“Nor me,” muttered Sam.
“Of course not!” said Gandalf. “Who would? But the question is: who will follow me, if I lead you there?”

– J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Leave a Reply

